Skip to main content
More Than 1/3 of States Now on NY's Quarantine List
Email share
Governor Andre Cuomo addresses reporters
Gov. Andrew Cuomo (File)
Credit: Gov. Cuomo's Office

Travelers from three more states will now be required to quarantine themselves for two weeks when they enter New York, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Tuesday, meaning that visitors from more than a third of the country will now be subject to the mandate.

Delaware, Kansas, and Oklahoma were added to New York’s list of states where the data indicates travelers could be at a higher risk of bringing the disease with them.

"As states around the country experience increasing community spread, New York is taking action to ensure the continued safety of our phased reopening,” Cuomo said.

Travelers from 19 states will now be required to quarantine for 14 days when entering New York, including the three added Tuesday and Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

The latest COVID-19 data in those states indicates that the number of positive coronavirus tests over the last week exceeds New York’s limit, which automatically triggers the quarantine order. States will be removed from the list when their share of positive tests goes down.

In New York, 588 more cases of the coronavirus were identified Monday, the latest data available. That represents about 1.04% of the total people tested Monday.

For context, Florida reported about 12 times as many new cases Tuesday, according to news reports.

The number of people hospitalized with the disease in New York ticked up, with an additional 19 people requiring treatment. That lands the total number of people hospitalized, as of Monday, at 836 in New York. Of those, 103 people are intubated.

The state’s number of deaths remained low Monday, with 10 fatalities reported due to COVID-19, according to the state. That brings the total number of deaths to 24,924.